Delafield, WI
webmaste
The email came in announcing that someone from the LinkedIn business networking site wanted me to contact them.
I do have a LinkedIn account, but wanted to use caution given all the malware email scams that are present today.
I moused over the link in the email, being careful not to click on the web link, then checked the lower left side of the browser to see where the link would take me.
The URl that appeared did not look like a LinkedIn URL. "Hetfont..." what? I thought to investigate further. I tried the base URL; the hetfonteintje dot com part. The URL took me to a web page for a restaurant, the text being in a language other than English. I then clicked on the link from the email, it took me to a page that asked me to download a software product that is well known. The file to be downloaded had a dot exe extension. I don't recommend that anyone do this unless you know the source of the file to be downloaded.
I wanted to know what IP provider, and country of origin the email came from. To do this, I select the "Full Header" option in my email browser. By doing this I can determine the originating IP address, then use the ws.arin.net website or the Whois tool included with my Linux operating system to help determine the needed information. 
The Whois output tells me the email is from Baku, Azerbaijan. I am sure at this point that this is not an official LinkedIn communique.
A few days later...
A few days later I googled the url from the email. There were several hits relating to malware issues with the site. I then went to the URL and noted that the site was now disabled. A small victory in the war against malware had been achieved. 
Copyright 2010 Computer Minder LLC. All rights reserved.
Delafield, WI
webmaste